2014 End of Year Book Survey-Part 2

Thanks again to Jamie from The Perpetual Page Turner for creating this survey. Because I was too lazy to fill mine out in one go, here is part 2! If you missed part 1, you can find it here.

Best in Books

21. Best book you read in 2014 that you read based solely on a recommendation from somebody else?

Born Confused by Tanuja Desai Hidier. A friend from work read it years ago and was reminded of it when our store began carrying the newly released version. She really wanted to share her experience of reading it with me, and I’m always up for reading something that’s a bit more diverse than my usual reads. I honestly didn’t expect to like it that much. The friendships and the romance, mixed with family drama, were so well done.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2014?

Is it bad to say Warner from the Shatter Me series? I’m normally one for the good guys but I loved him. Also Matt Finch from Open Road Summer because I really do like nice guys.

23. Best 2014 debut you read?

This isn’t even a contest. 100% Open Road Summer. Not since Something Like Normal by Trish Doller have I seen such a well-crafted debut. I anticipate great things from Emery Lord.

24. Best worldbuilding/most vivid setting you read this year?

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. It reminded me of why I love fantasy so much. She had the opportunity to build up two worlds in her book, one realistic within the city of Prague and one fantastical, filled with magic and creatures. She managed to do both so well.

25. Book that put a smile on your face/was the most fun to read?

A Little Something Different by Sandy Hall. This book is written from many different perspectives, including those of a squirrel and bench, as we see two people fall in love. Those chapters were my favourite to read.

26. Book that made you cry or nearly cry in 2014?

This is a hard one for me. I actually cry so easily but I’m having a hard time answering this one. I think I did a bit at the end of Allegiant, but that’s all I can come up with! Damn my terrible memory. Nothing I read this past year was as devastating as Morgan Matson’s Second Chance Summer, but I’m sure I still cried a fair bit.

27. Hidden gem of the year?

I think I’d have to go with A Little Something Different. I haven’t heard nearly as much about it as I expected to. I had such a great reading experience with it but it seems like not everyone has felt that way.

28. Book that crushed your soul?

Has to be Fangirl. I just felt for Cath so much in this book. She was awkward and nerdy and brilliant all at once. I felt like I was her in that book so everything that happened to her felt like it was happening to me.

29. Most unique book you read in 2014?

My True Love Gave to Me, an anthology edited by Stephanie Perkins. I’m taking this very literally, in that it’s the only anthology I read this year. For me, this really is a change because I’m all about the journey, and with short stories you have to fit so much into such a mall amount of pages. There were some definite hits and misses within all of the stories.

30. Book that made you the most mad?

The Treatment by Suzanne Young. I really enjoyed The Program but I felt like The Treatment just undid so much. The characters took weird turns that I didn’t think fit. There was a lot of character assassination, and it was so frustrating.

Your Blogging-Bookish Life

1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2014?

I’m only starting to discover new blogs as I’ve started my own, but I continue to love posts by Magan and Estelle at Rather Be Reading and our survey host, Jamie.

2. Favourite review that you wrote in 2014?

Sooooo I’ve yet to technically write a review yet. I mean I did a half review of the Veronica Mars book and a lot of book recommendations, but no solid review yet.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

I really enjoyed writing this post on audiobooks, because I got to share my awkward personality with you guys in gif form.

4. Best event that you participated in?

As part of my job, I got to attend a preview event from Harper Collins which highlighted their upcoming releases. It was my first time attending anything like that, and it was a lot of fun.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?

Definitely starting my blog. After going back and forth for months/years, I finally did it!

6. Most popular post this year on your blog?

My very first post has both the most views and the most comments. I was really touched with all the support I received from the blogging community.

7. Post you wished got a little more love?

Honestly, most of them, but I’m just starting out so I’m trying to keep my expectations in check. It can be hard, because as soon as you post something new, you’re so excited to share it with everyone and get a discussion going, but the reality is that you may not even get a single comment.

8. Best bookish discovery?

Gillian from Writer of Wrongs is crazy talented. I’m a little jealous but mostly in awe. My best discovery was that now you can actually buy some of her bookish art here in various forms.

9. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I didn’t have any this past year, but I’m hoping to read 75 books next year and take part in a few reading challenges.

Looking Ahead

1. One book you didn’t get to in 2014 but will be your number one priority in 2015?

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I’m almost scared to read it at this point due to the infinite praise but I must get to it!

2. Book (non-debut) you are most anticipating for 2015?

I Was Here by Gayle Forman, The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord, All the Rage by Courtney Summers and Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales. So many!

3. 2015 debut you are most anticipating?

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. I’ve been hearing AMAZING things about this one. I hope it lives up to the hype.

4. Series ending/a sequel you are most anticipating in 2015?

Please Remain Calm, which is a novella sequel to This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers, which is a brilliant book.

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2015?

I want to continue making my blog something I’m proud of. I hope that I’ll be able to keep it up and feel like I’m making a contribution to the reading community.

6. A 2015 release you’ve already read and recommend to everyone?

The only 2015 release I’ve read was All Fall Down by Ally Carter, but I can’t say I loved it unfortunately.

AND DONE! Thank you if you’ve made it this far, and if you skipped to the end, well I still love you. Just slightly less.

Which 2015 book are you excited for? Any reading goals for the new year?

Leave a Reply

