Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This is a list of new (to me) authors that I first read this past year. Some of them were just making their literary debuts while others had been around for a while and I was just slow to catch on.

 Emery Lord

I’d actually been anticipating her debut from the time the synopsis was released. Right away I knew it would be my type of book, and I was so right.  What I loved about Open Road Summer was that she took the harder road and made the story about Reagan and not Lilah, the country star. It’s not about the perky singer, instead it’s about the prickly best friend and that’s what made the book. That way she was able to focus more on the character of Reagan, and not wholly on the glamour of the celebrity lifestyle. This is what makes a book stay with you.

Leila Sales

This Song Will Save Your Life actually came out in 2013 and I immediately heard great things, but for some reason I was slow to pick it up. Once I finally read it, I was blown away. If I had to compare it to anything it would be my favourite Sarah Dessen novels with a cute romance, fun side characters and emotional depth. I’m so glad I discovered Leila Sales’ work this past year.

Katie Finn

This is where I start to cheat a little bit. For those of you that don’t know, Katie Finn is actually Morgan Matson, author of some of my all time favourite books. HOWEVER this was my first official book by Katie Finn. This is the book you read after the last one tore your heart to pieces. It’s a completely different vibe from a MM book, basically all fun and shenanigans. Sometimes that’s exactly what you need.

Heather Demetrios

I’m actually the last person you’ll ever find watching that show Infinity Kids and Counting or whatever the latest iteration is (no judgment I promise, you should see what I DO watch) but I was completely hooked when I read Heather’s Something Real. I loved how it brought us into all the drama behind the camera, because no matter what we see on tv, there’s always another story. I can’t wait to read more from her.

Tahereh Mafi

Yes I’m the last person to read the Shatter Me series. I wanted to wait until all the books were out, and even then it seemingly took me forever. I’d already been stalking Tahereh and her amazing style on twitter for over a year beforehand. Her writing style is very different. It can be fractured and overly-metaphorical, but in the end it’s what made me love her. Once I got used to it, it was essential to my reading experience. Every emotion was multiplied by a thousand. I loved her entire series.

Kasie West

This past year I read both The Distance Between Us and On the Fence with the former being my favourite of the two. I haven’t picked up anything from her Pivot Point series but I know I will. Kasie really knows how to write character dynamics. The Distance Between Us was full of tension and amazing banter. I can’t wait to see how she adds those elements to a book with a more structured plot like Pivot Point.

Laini Taylor

After hearing overwhelmingly positive things about Daughter of Smoke and Bone, I was in. Again though, I waited for the entire series to be released. I haven’t yet read the last two books in the series, but I plan on doing a complete read-through at some point next year. I loved the intricacies of her writing with the world she crafted. It was so different and refreshing from anything I’d read recently.

Sandy Hall

A Little Something Different was just one of those books that makes you go AWWW. I love a book with a good hook. Also apparently a good rhyme. Throw me a concept like “love story told from the perspective of everyone around the couple” and I’m there. She managed to give all her characters such different voices. I can’t wait to see what she comes out with next.

Laura Buzo

Originally titled Good Oil in Australia, Laura’s Love and Other Perishable Items was a great read. I’ve rarely been disappointed by Aussie YA. It more consistently has a grittier, less glamorous take on life than you’ll find in other branches of YA. You get two distinct POVs and two completely different character arcs which is always a sign of a good author.

Suzanne Young

This past year I finally picked up The Program and really liked it. I liked the characters, I liked the concept. Now, I was not the biggest fan of The Treatment. To me, it’s as if they were written by separate authors and the second one wasn’t given any clues as to what book one was about. Still, I’ve become a big fan of Suzanne Young as a writer and will definitely be reading Just Like Fate.

How about you guys? Which authors did you discover this past year and absolutely love? Any of them on my list? Let me know in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten New-To-Me Authors I Read In 2014

  1. I’m really liking your writing style on this TTT – especially when you described ORS. I totally agree with you that Emery Lord pulled a fast one by focusing on Reagan – I really have to get my analysis (it’s definitely not a review) up for that book, which is in my top two this year. =)

    I think I’m in the minority with Kasie West. Just don’t get it. I’ll probably check out Pivot Point, but I don’t understand the love?

    Really, really have to read This Song Will Save Your Life.

    • Thanks Tiff! Have you read The Distance Between Us though? I think it’s definitely a stronger book than On the Fence.

      You 100% need to read This Song Will Save Your Life. You will love it! I’m going to tease you and tell you your Christmas present is also a music-related book. Can’t wait til you get it!

  2. Pingback: What Does That Spell? Part 2 | You Should Read This

Leave a Reply

