Do YOU Audio?

I have a confession to make. I’ve never listened to an audiobook. It’s honestly never occurred to me that I should even try one. I was talking to a friend recently, and the topic turned to long commutes. She was telling me how it takes her an hour to get to and from work every day and to pass the time she started listening to audiobooks. She’s actually just coming to the end of listening to the entire A Song of Ice and Fire series (Game of Thrones etc) on audio which is over 200 hours. NOW that may be more of a commitment than I’m looking for but I realized audiobooks could be the solution to my transit problems because….

I am that person who gets distracted by every little noise and detail of what’s going on around her. I actually feel super awkward when I’m on the bus heading to and from school because I’m absolutely paranoid that the innocent-looking 50-year-old lady beside me is reading over my shoulder and judging me with her eyes. No seriously. This is basically me the whole time as I try to concentrate on my book.

 

loki gif

This is why I have perfected the awkward reading angle where I shield myself from stranger criticism. It’s very subtle and looks kinda like this:

falling gif

So I’m starting to realize audiobooks are pretty great. If you’re listening to the radio while driving, all it takes is one bad song and you’re right back to noticing the guy who’s tailgating you and the other guy who’s changing lanes without a signal. I have a lot of driving pet peeves, but hey Montreal is known for its terrible drivers. BUT. If you’re listening to a great book on audio, then maybe just maybe you can tune all that out.

SO MY POINT. I actually just started my very first audiobook. I was about 60 pages into the Veronica Mars book The Thousand Dollar Tan Line and the format just wasn’t working for me. The voices in my head are a poor substitute for Kristen Bell’s lovable snark. I’m about 10% in right now, but look for a review of that one in the coming days. Also look forward to tons of peer pressure if you’ve never seen the show. It’s my specialty and it’s more or less in my blog name. You’ve been warned.

Bonus Content

 Jamie from The Perpetual Page Turner wrote a post about using audiobooks as a motivation for exercise which you should check out. It’s a great idea if you’re better than I am at multitasking.

So what about you? Are you an audiobook first timer like me or a seasoned veteran? When do you listen to them and what makes you decide to do audio vs. print? Tell me your story!

9 thoughts on “Do YOU Audio?

  1. I am so glad I’m not the only one who suffers from the shielding books from strangers habit. I do it with my computer in public places too. It’s really more paranoia than is required in any situation but I just keep doing it…

    I used to listen to audiobooks a bunch when I was younger but now I tend to read my books and listen to music or podcasts when I’m in transportation or walking. Maybe I’ll pick them up again sometime.

  2. Love this post!! I’m also way too paranoid about strangers reading over my shoulder (and get distracted by just about everything).

    I’ve never listened to an audiobook, but being a pretty big fan of Veronica Mars I may have to pick that one up. I’m sure Kristen Bell’s voice just completes the experience!

  3. ARE WE THE SAME PERSON??

    But really. I can’t do audiobooks. I’ve tried and failed so I just ended up buying a few favorites (Hex Hall & Gone Girl) in audio format for something fun and different if I ever feel like I need a fun and different reread.

    Also, I feel like a total champ now that I’ve gotten sucked into the Serial craze. It’s a podcast, yes, but like you, I get distracted SO EASILY, so it’s a miracle I’ve made it through one ep let alone ten (so far). And unlike a tv show, you can’t just keep on watching (or listening) without rewinding if you’ve missed something on the HUGE chance that the thing you missed was REALLY IMPORTANT (you can never be sure!). So it’s taken me a while to get through each episode but I’m addicted. And I usually listen to it on my ipod, right before bed. Or else I’d be distracted by everything and anything in daylight.

  4. Pingback: Baby’s First Audiobook-Veronica Mars Edition | You Should Read This

  5. Pingback: 2014 End of Year Book Survey-Part 2 | You Should Read This

Leave a Reply

